Saturday, November 6, 2010


In 1981, Kathryn Falk established the Romantic Times magazine for romance readers to get the scoop on the newest romances and authors in the genre. The Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards are awarded to the best books of the year by the staff of the magazine, as they express their readers’ preferences.

Romantic Times (RT) Reviewers’ Choice Award nominations for 2010: Good luck to all contestants and winners

*Best Contemporary Mystery:

212, by Alafair Burke (Harper)

Pray for Silence, by Linda Castillo (Minotaur)

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, by Tom Franklin (Morrow)

On the Line, by S.J. Rozan (Minotaur)

Moonlight Mile, by Dennis Lehane (Morrow)

*Best Historical Mystery:

City of Dragons, by Kelli Stanley (Minotaur)

An Impartial Witness, by Charles Todd (Morrow)

Royal Blood, by Rhys Bowen (Prime Crime)

The Demon’s Parchment, by Jeri Westerson (Minotaur)

Dark Road to Darjeeling, by Deanna Raybourn (Mira)

*Best First Mystery:

Blacklands, by Belinda Bauer (Simon & Schuster)

The Ark, by Boyd Morrison (Touchstone)

Still Missing, by Chevy Stevens (St. Martin’s Press)

Murder at Mansfield Park, by Lynn Shepherd (St. Martin’s Griffin)

Devoured by D.E. Meredith (Minotaur)

*Best Suspense/Thriller Novel:

Eight Days to Live, by Iris Johansen (St. Martin’s Press)

Broken, by Karin Slaughter (Delacorte)

Live to Tell, by Lisa Gardner (Bantam)

They’re Watching, by Gregg Hurwitz (St. Martin’s Press)

One Grave Less, by Beverly Connor (Obsidian)

*Best Amateur Sleuth Novel:

Ghouls Gone Wild, by Victoria Laurie (Obsidian)

Bone Appetit, by Carolyn Haines (Minotaur)

Cat in an Ultramarine Scheme, by Carole Nelson Douglas (Forge)

The Quick and the Thread, by Amanda Lee (Obsidian)

A Nose for Justice, by Rita Mae Brown (Ballantine)

Winners will be announced during the 2011 RT Book Lovers’ Convention, in Los Angeles, April 6-10.